Steve Kozari is having an unfortunately eventful week of playoff hockey.
First, he was hit in the chest by a deflected puck at Blue Jackets/Penguins.
That was a close call for the visorless official. Saturday night’s puck came even closer.
Kozari was helped off the ice by the Bruins’ trainer. After a TV timeout, he was right back on the ice. But should he have been?
Seen tweets about Steve Kozari's toughness for coming back in a game after taking a puck in the face. But, was there a consussion protocol?
— Dave Patterson (@sportsrefs) April 26, 2014
Each playoff game has a designated standby referee. (For this game, it was Francis Charron. Maybe that would’ve been a good time to let Kozari recover and get the kid into the game.
Follow us on Twitter – @scoutingtherefs