Ducks forward Tim Jackman likes to stir things up in the crease. Sometimes, though, he’s better served staying out of the paint.
The Ducks weren’t having a terrific game. They were trailing the Kings 1-0 and being outshot 16-4 midway through the game. That’s when Jackman drove to the net… and bumped the Los Angeles netminder.
It wasn’t much contact, but it was enough for referee Eric Furlatt to wave off the goal.
Ducks goal waved off because officials ruled that Jackman made contact with Quick.
— Dan Rosen (@drosennhl) January 24, 2014
Very light interference by Jackman on Quick negates a Ducks goal. Play on.
— Jon Rosen (@lakingsinsider) January 24, 2014
Goal disallowed as Furlatt determines Jackman made contact with Quick before deflecting puck in. Don't shoot messenger, please.
— Eric Stephens (@icemancometh) January 24, 2014
Here’s the official rule. Since Quick was still partially in the crease, the ‘Inside-the-Goal-Crease’ rule applies:
69.3 Contact Inside the Goal Crease – If an attacking player initiates contact with a goalkeeper, incidental or otherwise, while the goalkeeper is in his goal crease, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed.
If a goalkeeper, in the act of establishing his position within his goal crease, initiates contact with an attacking player who is in the goal crease, and this results in an impairment of the goalkeeper’s ability to defend his goal, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed.
In case you’re wondering, goaltender interference is not reviewable. It’s entirely up to the on-ice officials to determine if contact was made and whether it’s incidental (to negate a goal) or deserving of an interference penalty.
Ducks captain Ryan Getzlaf argued hard, though it was admittedly not going to change the officials’ minds on the call. The play seemed to spark the Ducks, who scored a few minutes later and kept on rolling to a 2-1 victory.
Looks like Jackman helped spark his club after all…