Can I kick it? No, Brad Boyes, you can not.
At least, not if you want it to count.
The War Room determined that the goal – which would’ve put the Panthers on the board though still down 4-1 to the Pens – was kicked in. I’m not entirely convinced. You make the call:
It looks to me like Boyes was stopping, then ran into the back of the defending player. Not sure I saw anything ‘distinct’ to overturn the call on the ice. I wasn’t the only one:
That is VERY surprising. How they see a distinct kick by Boyes there is beyond me. Especially not when on-ice ruling was goal. #Pens lucky.
— Dejan Kovacevic (@Dejan_Kovacevic) December 1, 2013
— Jameson Olive (@JamesonCoop) December 1, 2013
The Penguins went on to win by a final score of 5-1.